IISD President and CEO Richard Florizone Named One of Canada's Clean50 Award Honourees

September 16, 2021

IISD is pleased to announce that President and CEO Richard Florizone has been named one of this year’s Clean50 Award honourees. The award celebrates Canada's top leadership in sustainability in categories such as academia, government, and the private sector. 

In addition, Richard has also been recognized as one of the Clean16, a designation that includes him and IISD as one of this year’s national leaders in the Environmental NGO & Advocates category.

IISD President and CEO Dr. Richard Florizone

Richard joins Canada's environment and climate change minister, Jonathan Wilkinson; the mayor of Montreal, Valérie Plante; Vinay Sharma, CEO of London Hydro; and a number of clean tech innovators in winning this year's award. 

"Throughout the past year, Canadians across the country have shown that protecting our climate is a top priority," says Richard. "This is reflected in the efforts of an impressive group of individuals and organizations over many years of dedication. I am honoured to be in the company of these sustainability experts and advocates and deeply grateful to the Clean50 Award for their recognition of IISD's work."

Over the past decade since the Clean50 Award and Summit were launched, over 700 environmental leaders and organizations have been recognized for their contributions to sustainability in Canada. The award and summit have inspired greater collaboration among the honourees, along with encouraging greater action from the wider public on the many pressing issues affecting our climate and natural resources.

Past recipients of the Clean50 Award include current and prior members of IISD’s board, such as Andrea Moffat, Valerie Chort, and Robert (Bob) Walker

This year's honourees will be attending the Clean50 Summit 11.0 in Toronto, Canada, on October 1, 2021, which will be held in-person and in compliance with COVID-19 regulations.

We warmly congratulate Richard and thank the Clean50 Award committee for this honour.