CPTPP Update: Trade deal now in force for seven signatories, more on the way

The CPTPP entered into force on December 30, 2018, when it took effect for Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore. Vietnam followed suit on January 14, 2019.

Chile’s legislature is in the process of ratifying the agreement. The foreign affairs and treasury committee of Chile’s Chamber of Deputies has voted in favour of the CPTPP, which next goes to a vote in the full chamber before being considered by the Senate. Brunei and Peru have not yet ratified the agreement, nor has Malaysia, where trade ministry officials say they are considering what the agreement will mean for its investment prospects. The country is also weighing whether the CPTPP will affect its standing within ASEAN, officials say.

Thailand is preparing to request accession to the CPTPP in the coming weeks, according to statements made by a commerce ministry official.