CNUCED

La facilitation de l’investissement à l’OMC : une tentative d’introduire une question controversée dans une organisation en crise

Cela fait maintenant 18 mois que 70 membres de l’OMC ont entamé des discussions structurées sur la facilitation de l’investissement (FI). Les participants parachèvent actuellement la dernière phase de leurs travaux : examiner les exemples de divers éléments et questions qui pourraient servir de base pour un cadre multilatéral sur la FI. Les auteures retracent l’histoire des discussions relatives à l’investissement au sein de l’OMC et examinent l’évolution récente de la gouvernance internationale de l’investissement dans d’autres forums. Elles se penchent sur les difficultés pouvant naître de l’élaboration de disciplines sur la FI, notamment si celles-ci sont contraignantes, ainsi que sur l’importance de considérer quels sont les forums les plus appropriés pour mener ces discussions.

Rapport sur l’investissement dans le monde 2018 : investissement et nouvelles politiques industrielles

Le rapport sur l’investissement dans le monde 2018 présente les tendances et perspectives de l’investissement direct étranger (IDE) aux échelons mondial, régional et national;

Série sur les AII : le Règlement des différends investisseur-État : passage en revue des développements de 2017

L’examen annuel du Règlement des différends investisseur-État (RDIE) mené par la CNUCED inclut un aperçu des affaires lancées au titre d’Accords internationaux d’investissement (AII), les décisions rendues ainsi qu’une analyse approfondie de celles-ci.

L’investissement au service du développement durable par le biais des partenariats public-privé (PPP) : IISD et la CNUCED organisent des ateliers conjoints à Nairobi

Le 6 février 2018, l’Institut international pour le développement durable (IISD) et la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement (CNUCED) ont coorganisé deux ateliers d’une demi-journée sur la manière de mobiliser l’investissement au service du développement durable par le biais des partenariats public-privé (PPP) dans le domaine des infrastructures et des services publics, à Nairobi, au Kenya.

Conférence de haut-niveau de la CNUCED sur les AII : poursuivre l’examen des Accords internationaux d’investissement d’ancienne génération

Plus de 300 participants se sont réunis à Genève pour faire le point sur la réforme du régime des traités d’investissement axée sur le développement durable, et pour aborder les moyens d’action politique permettant de moderniser le stock existant de traités d’ancienne génération. Les participants ont reconnu qu’une collaboration multilatérale serait essentielle pour corriger le régime complexe des AII.

Rapport mondial sur l’investissement 2017 : L’investissement et l’économie numérique

Le Rapport sur l’investissement dans le monde (RIM) est axé sur les tendances en matière d’investissement direct étranger (IDE) et sur les mesures émergentes visant à améliorer sa contribution au développement.

Le navigateur de règlements des différends en matière d’investissement (navigateur RDIE)

La base de données en ligne contient des informations relatives aux 696 affaires d’arbitrage international connues du public, lancées par des investisseurs contre des États au titre d’Accords internationaux d’investissement (AII).

Les experts réunis à la CNUCED façonnent les possibilités de réforme des AII

Plus de 300 experts et délégués des États membres, d’organisations internationales, d’ONG, du secteur privé et des universités ont participé à la réunion de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement (CNUCED) portant sur la Transformation du régime des Accords internationaux d’investissement (AII) du 25 au 27 février 2015 à Genève. […]

UNCTAD’s Investment Policy Framework for Sustainable Development: Potential and Issues

The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) has released its Investment Policy Framework for Sustainable Development (IPFSD). This article engages in an independent assessment of the IPFSD.

Towards a New Generation of Investment Policies: UNCTAD’s Investment Policy Framework for Sustainable Development

On 12 June 2012, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development launched its Investment Policy Framework for Sustainable Development. IPFSD comes at a time when the international investment regime is in a state of « transition » and when an increasing number of governments are reviewing their investment-related regulatory frameworks, both at the national and international levels.

UNCTAD

Investment Facilitation at the WTO: An attempt to bring a controversial issue into an organization in crisis

The structured discussions on investment facilitation (IF) among 70 WTO members are now 18 months old. Participants are wrapping up their latest phase of work: considering examples of different issues and elements that could form the basis of a multilateral IF framework. The authors examine the history of investment discussions at the WTO and review how international investment governance in other forums has evolved in recent years. They examine what challenges can emerge in crafting IF disciplines, especially if these are binding, and the importance of considering which forums are most appropriate for IF-related discussions.

World Investment Report 2018: Investment and new industrial policies

The 2018 World Investment Report presents foreign direct investment (FDI) trends and prospects at global, regional and national levels; analyzes the latest developments in national policy measures on investment; 

IIA Issues Note: Investor–State Dispute Settlement: Review of developments in 2017

UNCTAD’s annual review of investor–state dispute settlement (ISDS) contains an overview of cases initiated pursuant to international investment agreements (IIAs), overall case outcomes and an in-depth analysis of decisions.

News  |  April 24, 2018

Investment for sustainable development through public–private partnerships (PPPs): IISD and UNCTAD host joint workshops in Nairobi

On February 6, 2018, the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD) and the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) co-organized two half-day workshops on Harnessing Investment for Sustainable Development Through Public–Private Partnerships (PPPs) in Infrastructure and Public Services in Nairobi, Kenya.

UNCTAD’s 2017 High-level IIA Conference: Moving Forward on Addressing Older-Generation International Investment Agreements

Over 300 experts gathered in Geneva to take stock of the sustainable development-oriented reform of the investment treaty regime and discuss policy options for modernizing the existing stock of older-generation treaties. Participants recognized that multilateral collaboration would be key to addressing the complex IIA regime.

2017 World Investment Report: Investment and the digital economy

The World Investment Report (WIR) focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) and emerging measures to improve its contribution to development.

Investment Dispute Settlement Navigator (ISDS Navigator)

The online database contains information on 696 publicly known international arbitration cases initiated by investors against states pursuant to international investment agreements (IIAs).

Experts at UNCTAD Meeting Give Shape to IIA Reform Options

More than 300 experts and delegates from member states, international organizations, NGOs, the private sector and academia attended the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) Meeting on the Transformation of the International Investment Agreement (IIA) Regime from February 25 to 27, 2015 in Geneva. Working in breakout and plenary sessions, the experts explored […]

UNCTAD’s Investment Policy Framework for Sustainable Development: Potential and Issues

The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) has released its Investment Policy Framework for Sustainable Development (IPFSD). This article engages in an independent assessment of the IPFSD.

Towards a New Generation of Investment Policies: UNCTAD’s Investment Policy Framework for Sustainable Development

On 12 June 2012, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development launched its Investment Policy Framework for Sustainable Development. IPFSD comes at a time when the international investment regime is in a state of “transition” and when an increasing number of governments are reviewing their investment-related regulatory frameworks, both at the national and international levels.