Nigeria

La corruption et la confidentialité dans le RDIE fondé sur un contrat : l’affaire P&ID c. Nigeria

Cet article examine un différend fondé sur un contrat, P&ID c. Nigeria, qui met en avant les questions de la corruption et de l’absence de transparence dans ce type de règlement des différends. Il conclut que, compte tenu des intérêts publics majeurs en jeu dans l’arbitrage investisseur-État, notamment la possibilité que l’arbitrage facilite le transfert corrompu de fonds publics à des acteurs privés, ces différends ne devraient pas être menés en privé.

Un tribunal du CIRDI rejette les recours de Interocean Oil Development Company et Interocean Oil Exploration Company contre le Nigeria, tout en affirmant sa compétence sur les recours au titre de la seule loi nationale nigériane sur l’investissement

Interocean Oil Development Company et Interocean Oil Exploration Company c. la République fédérale du Nigeria, Affaire CIRDI n° ARB/13/20

L’Accord prévoyant la création de la Zone de libre-échange continentale africaine (AfCFTA) a été signé au Rwanda

Le 21 mars 2018, 44 des 55 États membres de l’Union africaine réunis à Kigali, au Rwanda, ont signé l’AfCFTA dans le but de créer un marché unique sur le continent.

Le TBI 2016 Maroc-Nigéria : Une importante contribution à la réforme des traités d’investissement

Deux pays en développement africains répondent aux critiques à l’égard du régime d’investissement. Le traité innovateur offre une protection aux investisseurs étrangers sans compromettre la capacité de l’État d’accueil à réglementer dans l’intérêt public.

Nigeria

Corruption and confidentiality in contract-based ISDS: The case of P&ID v Nigeria

This article examines a contract-based dispute, P&ID v. Nigeria, which highlights issues of corruption and lack of transparency in this type of dispute settlement. It concludes that, given the significant public interests at stake in investor–state arbitration, including the possibility that arbitration may facilitate the corrupt transfer of public funds to private actors, they should not be conducted in private.

Awards  |  December 19, 2020

ICSID tribunal dismisses claims of Interocean Oil Development Company and Interocean Oil Exploration Company against Nigeria while upholding its jurisdiction to hear the claims solely based on Nigeria’s domestic investment statute

Interocean Oil Development Company and Interocean Oil Exploration Company v. Federal Republic of Nigeria, ICSID Case No. ARB/13/20

News  |  April 24, 2018

Agreement to create the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) signed in Rwanda

On March 21, 2018, 44 of the 55 African Union member states gathered in Kigali, Rwanda, signed the AfCFTA with a view to creating a single market in the continent.

The 2016 Morocco–Nigeria BIT: An Important Contribution to the Reform of Investment Treaties

Two African developing countries respond to criticisms against the investment regime. The innovative treaty offers protection to foreign investors without compromising on the host state’s capacity to regulate in the public interest.